top of page
  • Writer's pictureJohn Stevick

Pods Vol. 1: Prophetic Politics

Updated: Jun 11, 2019

feat. Thabiti Anyabwile and Nick Rodriguez

My first Pods review is one of my favorite new podcast discoveries in the last year. Started just 2 months ago, I found this podcast via Thabiti's twitter account after attending JustGospel 2019 in Atlanta. I was really excited about the announcement and have not been disappointed by the hype I felt. About the Hosts Prophetic Politics is hosted by Thabiti Anyabwile and Nick Rodriguez and is produced by Ben Brophy. Thabiti is a national known author and the pastor of Anacostia River Church where Nick and Ben, I believe, are also members. Thabiti has become one of my favorite theologians over this past year, and I have greatly benefited from his ministry. Cracking Open The Pod The general format of each episode is to take a current hot-button political issue (immigration, gun control, racism, etc.), present a fair representation of what a "Religious Right-Winged Republican" and a "Secular Left-Winged Democrat" would believe about it, and try to provide balanced biblical responses to both views. Nick excels at putting the current iteration of the issue into a broader historic context, and Thabiti brings the full weight of both his biblical exegesis and pastoral care to bear while talking through these difficult subjects. What really sticks out to me about this podcast is how much Thabiti and Nick break political stereotypes. Both come from minority ethnic groups and tend to take a more leftward-leaning approach to issues. Yet they both are theologically conservative, orthodox Baptist believers. Their different perspectives have caused me to rethink, even change, some of my own long-held beliefs and assumptions. At the very least, they provide a nice check-and-balance to my media intake, which is highly influenced by conservative political thought. Embracing politically left-ward solutions to national issues does not mean we have to start supporting abortion or "same-sex marriage." It does mean, however, that what Christians consider about national policy can be more varied than the current political polarization would lead you to believe. Just as an example, in the episode on immigration Nick and Thabiti made some great points about national generosity and human flourishing that were planted firmly in biblical wisdom. Both had a more open-mind to less stringent limitations on who could be considered for entry into the country, but still affirmed the government's right to properly regulate immigration in a safe manner. They also showed how the sojourner and the refugee are considered classes of people who are to be honored and cared for by the people of God. I found the biblical basis for both of these views compelling and viable. I myself still lean a little more right on this issue, but I certainly do not think anything said was out of step with Christ and his Word. I believe the best podcasts challenge us to consider wider possibilities. I am grateful for the work Thabiti and Nick have put into this project and look forward to listening to each new episode. Please give them a listen, be challenged, and grow. Edit: Since I wrote this article Ben Brophy has joined Thabiti and Nick behind the mic and comes from a libertarian leaning political direction. I cannot help but think this will only make the show that much better\in representing a broader set of view points.

44 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page