top of page
  • Writer's pictureJohn Stevick

My Backroom: Why I Blog

Updated: Jun 10, 2019

Do you really need a recap sentence? Just read the title silly.

"So John, why would a fine and upstanding adult like yourself be interested in starting a blog now? Isn't that so early 2010s?" Well good blog reader, I would first ask how you got into my Wix account to edit this post, but since you are here I will indulge your curiosity. Being a fine and upstanding adult, I enjoy contemplating the deeper realms of thought. What is the meaning of existence? Why do we suffer in this life? Does the chewing gum lose its flavor on the bedpost overnight? I hope to inspire those who, like yourself, wander into my backroom, that they may be enlightened by my musings and wisdom. "So what you're really saying is you're a severe introvert with extreme ADHD who needed a place to put down all your thoughts so you would stop staring out into space having conversations with yourself?" Exactly. "So books?"

I've got a huge backlog of them to read. "Podcasts?" A great way to spend long car rides. "Music?" For when I run out of podcast episodes. "Life and Righteousness?" I owe both to Christ, and I write about them because I'm a RWG. It's sorta what we are known for. "RWG?" Reformed White Guy. "Ahh." So in all seriousness, I am starting this blog due to a growing need to write about everything I have gotten myself into over the last few years. Since I became a new father, my life that has been (if I may borrow a 90s sitcom lyric) "flipped-turned, upside-down." When I get stressed out about life (which if I am honest, is an everyday occurrence it seems), I like to go into the backroom of our house and muse a bit about all of it. That is where many of my best ideas come from, including this one. I hope to share some thoughts and make a few nerdy jokes on the way. I have plenty of material to get to, so please come and enjoy The Backroom Blog. I apologize for the clutter, but if we dig deep enough we might just hit gold. Or lent and dust bunnies.

33 views0 comments
bottom of page